

21 AUGUST 2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Time & Date	7:00-9:00pm on Tuesday, 21 August, 2018	
Location:	Redfern Town Hall, 73 Pitt St, Redfern NSW 2016	
Attendees:		
NAME	Club	Nominated Club Delegate
Matt McClelland	NPA NSW	Y
Alex Allchin	SBW	Y
Margaret Covi	Watagan Wanders	Y
George Quinn	CMW	Y
Keith Maxwell	CPW	Y
Meg McKone	Canberra BC	Ν
Frank McKone	Canberra BC	Ν
Cheryl Actcher	WEA	Y
Jayne Daniels		N
David Noble	SUBW	Ν
Tony O'Suilivan	WEA Ramblers	Y
Ute Foster	CMW	Proxy
John Flint	SBW	Y
Sierra Classen	SUBW	Ν
Jon Gray	BBC	Y
Ann Farrell	SCB	Y
Lee Cordner	SHBWC	Y
Kavitha Lyman	Blue Steel Dash	Y
Bruce Lyman	Blue Steel Dash	Y
Thais Turner	Bankstown & Catholic BW	Y
Paul Monaguan	All Nations Bushwalkers	Y
Geoff Jones	CMW	Ν
Dick Weston	Bush Club	Y
Vanessa Hicks	Sutherland Bushwalkers	Y
Kerrie McLean	Bankstown Bushwalkers	Y
David Bell	SBW & Bush Club	N
David Springthorpe	e CMW	Y

Bushwalking NSW Inc.

Keep exploring, be amazed!

- 1. Registration (7PM)
- 2. Welcome and Introduction President (Alex Allchin)
 - Apologies and welcome to visitors
- 3. Acceptance of Minutes of Annual General Meeting on 13th August, 2017

Proposed: Sierra Classen, Seconded: Mitch Isaacs. CARRIED

7:35 Keynote speaker: Meg McKone, Coast and Mountain Walkers & Canberra Bushwalking Club

Finding Canyons in the Chewings Range

Specifically, about the Canyon of Defiance and Portals Canyon

Pass finding is a key activity in getting up on top of the Chewings Range because there aren't many rivers or creeks that come down.

Meg gave detailed notes and spectacular photos of trips to explore the canyons and ridges of the Chewings Range.

8:00pm Receipt of annual report - any questions to office bearers

Lee Cordner – questions for the president and the treasurer.

- What is being done to improve Bushwalking NSW governance?
- Were small clubs consulted during the BNSW review?

(See Lee's speech - tabled)

Was the auditor of the annual report aware of the large clubs being invoiced directly by the insurer?

John Flint says he will raise this with the auditor.

Moved by Matt: Vote of thanks to Alex and committee for all of the work that they do.

Acclaimed by applause.

Moved by John Flint

Seconded by _____

Votes for (all but Lee and his associate)

8:10 Election of Management Committee for 2017/18

• President

Nomination: **Alex Allchin** Nominator: Keith Maxwell 2nded: David Springthorpe from CMW

Vice President

Mitchell Isaacs Mover: Margaret Covi 2nd: George Quinn

George Quinn

• Secretary

Nomination: George Quinn Mover: Alex Allchin

2nd: Sierra Classen

Treasurer

Bushwalking NSW Inc. Keep exploring, be amazed!

John Flint By Margaret Covi 2nd: Keith Maxwell

Between 3 and 7 Ordinary Committee members

Keith Maxwell Nominated by Alex Allchin 2nd: Cheryl Fletcher

•

Margaret Covi

Nomination: Keith Maxwell 2nd: John Flint

Lee Cordner

Nominated by Alex Allchin Declined nomination

Bruce Lyman (from Blue Steel Dash)

Self-nominated 2nder: Matt McCleland

David Bell

Nominator: Alex Allchin 2nder: Sierra Classen

Dick Weston

Self-nominator 2nder: Paul Wyngaarden

Auditor: Same auditor to continue. Moved: Alex Allchin Seconded: Keith Maxwell

8:30

Election of Office Bearers and Delegates to other organisations

Position	Was held in 2017-18 by:
Public Officer	Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers)
Election of	Bechini & Associates
Auditor	

Bushwalking NSW Inc.

Keep exploring, be amazed!

Conservation	Sierra Classen (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Officer	
Delegate/s to	Sierra Classen (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Nature	
Conservation	
Council	
Tracks and	Alex Allchin (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
Access Officer	
Risk	Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers)
Management	Linda Groom (Canberra Bushwalking Club Inc)
Officer(s)	
Media Officer	Mitchell Isaacs (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Training Officer	Vacant
Website Content	Leonie Bell (Sutherland Bushwalkers)
Editor	
Website	Alexandra Hipolito (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Manager	
Newsletter Sub-	Jaimey Foti (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
Editor	
Newsletter	Kirsten Mayer (Executive Officer, Bushwalking NSW)
Editor	
Magazine Editor	Roger Caffin
Graphic	Barry Hanlon
Designer	
Delegates to	Alex Allchin (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
Bushwalking	Kirsten Mayer (Executive Officer, Bushwalking NSW)
Australia	

8:40 Chardon Award

David Noble

- Canyon Research
- Past President of BNSW
- Editor of the BNSW newsletter

Dave made a speech about the history of the role of BNSW, particularly the importance of conservation (and search and rescue). He mentioned being sued by a mine owner for making submissions against a mine in Ettrema Creek. He mentioned his first walk to the Kowmung River just before his HSC. He also mentioned a river under threat.

and

Bushwalking NSW Inc.

Keep exploring, be amazed!

Gordon Lee

- 1982-1992 --- BNSW president
- Used Word Perfect to improve the newsletter substantially.
- Died last year

8:45 Direction and priorities of Bushwalking NSW in 2018-19

- Alex mentioned wanting to have more face-to-face contact with clubs.
- Large club fee cap has been raised and BNSW welcomes input into the fee structure for future years.

8:50 General Business

• Updates from clubs

Keith Maxwell: today Keith attended an awards ceremony held in Penrith by the Centre for Volunteering Western Sydney and the Lower Blue Mountains Region. BSAR was recognised as the volunteer team of the year.

• Other business

Matt McClelland: Encourages committee to spend some time developing a strategic plan, rather than doing projects.

E-Topos: 524 topo maps will no longer be printed by the Department of Lands/Spatial Services. Alex is preparing a submission and calls for support from clubs in this issue.

9:15pm Meeting closed.

Save Kosci - Kosciuczko presentation given by Meg after meeting closed.

Cheryl Fletcher won the door prize Best Walks of the Red Centre.

We also then forward to seeing you at the following Bushwalking NSW General Meetings:

On Saturday & Sunday 20 - 21st October 2018 for:

Bushwalking NSW Annual Bush Camp Walks, Canyons, Training, and BBQs Put it in your club calendar! See the draft agenda and how to get involved **7pm Tuesday, 20**th **November, 2018**

7pm Tuesday, 19th February, 2019

7pm Tuesday, 21st May, 2019

7pm Tuesday, 20th August, 2019 – AGM

7pm Tuesday, 19th November, 2019