# Bushwalking NSW

# **GENERAL MEETING 19 NOV 2019 MINUTES**

Time & Date	7:30-9:00pm on Tuesday, 19 <sup>th</sup> November 2019
Location:	Redfern Town Hall, 73 Pitt St, Redfern NSW 2016

### **Attendees:**

NAME	Club	Nominated Club Delegate
Dee McCallum	All Nations BW	Yes
Peter Jack	Illawarra Ramblers	Yes
Tracy Wunziatu	NRBC	Yes
Linda Hager	BWC	Yes
Michele Maurer	ANB	Yes
Maarten V.D. Wende	NPA	
Bruce Lyman	Blue Steel Dash	Yes
<b>David Springthorpe</b>	Coast and Mountain	Yes
Cheryl Fletcher	WEA Ramblers	Yes
Kevin	NPA	Yes
Terry Herbert	CBC	
Jon Gray	Bankstown Bushwalking Club (BBC)	No
Halina Kraski	SBW	Yes
Keith Maxwell	Bush Club	Yes
Peter Jack	Illawarra Ramblers	Yes
Jim Collier	Sydney Bush Walkers	Yes
Margaret Covi	Watagan Wanderers	Yes
C Fletcher	WEA Ramblers	Yes
Leigh Shearer	Walking Volunteers	No
Ian Napier	Walking Volunteers	No
Paul Wyngaardan	CBC	No
Sheila Walker	Central West BC	Yes
Matt McClelland	NPA of NSW	Yes
Linda Hurford	Central West BC	Yes
David Noble	SUBW	No
Stuart Corner	SRW	Yes
Jim Close	SBW	Yes
Tony O'Sullivan	WEA Ramblers	Yes
John Hungerford	The Bush Club	No
Tony O'Sullivan	WEA Ramblers	Yes
Roll Gilbat	Central West BC	Yes
Bill Donoh ?	Wanderers	Yes
John Baird	Walking Volunteers	No
Vanessa Hicks	Sutherland Bushwalkers	Yes
Alan Bunt	Sutherland Bushwalkers	No



Thais Turner	Catholic BWS and Bankstown BWC	Yes	
Alex Allchin	Sydney Bush Walkers	Yes	

#### Present:

Alex Allchin Bushwalking NSW President and Meeting Chair Members of the Bushwalking NSW Committee Delegates of various BNSW clubs, and additional members as per the attached delegates list.

The Chair declared meeting open at 1930, with an Acknowledgment of Country a welcome to delegates and visitors.

**Apologies**: Kerrie McLean, Bankstown Bushwalking Club; Ute Foster, CMW; David Bell, Sydney Bush Walkers; Kirsten Mayer.

Present: as per the delegates list plus guests list above.

#### **Previous Minutes**

The Chair moved that the tabled minutes of the General Meeting of the 21<sup>st</sup> May be accepted.

Seconded and approved.

### **Guest Speaker**

The Chair welcomed Ian Napier to speak on the creation of The Great West Walk. Ian provided a very informative presentation which gave an overview of the route of the Great West Walk which links Parramatta and Penrith via various green corridors. He flagged the support and contributions by various city councils and the Office of the Government Architect. <a href="https://greatwestwalk.com.au">https://greatwestwalk.com.au</a>

#### **Chardon Award**

Keith Maxwell was invited to present the Chardon Award to David Noble.

#### **General Business**

The Chair asked the meeting to ratify the following appointments, filled since the AGM at which time they were vacant:

- Bill Boyd as Bushwalking NSW Vice President.
- Bruce Lyman as Bushwalking NSW Secretary
- Jon Gray Bushwalking NSW Management Committee

Approved

Bnsw Gm 29 Nov 19 Minutes

# Bushwalking NSW

## **Club Updates**

A number of contributions were received from the floor commenting on club activities, including:

- a question about access to tracks on the Illawarra Escarpment,
- John Hungerford's reflection on the '80 walks by 80 leaders' effort by the Bush Club to commemorate that club's 80<sup>th</sup> anniversary,
- the Central West BWC bicentenary (?) walk from Emu Plains to Bathurst (the funds raised from which were used to sponsor a local high school student through 'Outward Bound', and
- the Central Coast reported a successful training day for leaders.
- On the matter of leadership Jim Close (SBW) also reported they had been conducting a leadership survey, responses having been received from 75 of the 140 leaders surveyed.

#### Close

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 2035

Bnsw Gm 29 Nov 19 Minutes