

Bushwalking NSW Inc.

PO Box 3008, Uki NSW 2484

P: (02) 8003 5545

E: admin@bushwalkingnsw.org.au

W: bushwalkingnsw.org.au

## 15 August 2023

### BNSW Annual General Meeting Minutes

Time & Date	7 – 9:30pm d	on Tuesday,	15 August 2023
-------------	--------------	-------------	----------------

Timo & Bato	7 0.00pm on racoday, 10 ragast 2020
Location:	Redfern Town Hall 73 Pitt Street, Redfern NSW 2016
Attendees:	David Bell (SBW), Jon Gray (Bankstown Bushwalking Club), John Flint (SBW), Peter Jack (Illawarra Ramblers), Keith Maxwell (Bush Club), Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers), Kirsten Mayer (EO), Les Higgins (Yarrawood Bushwalking Club), B Campbell (Bush Club, SBW), Jon Douglas (Bush Club), Linda Taylor, Bruce Henderson (Bush Club), Lucy Moore (Bush Club), John Friedman (SUBW), Alan Sauran (Bush Club), Suzanne Aubrun (Bush Club), Pierce Langdon, Hiroko Langdon, Jerry Firbir (Bush Club), Carol Thompson (Bush Club), Paul Wijngaarden (CBC), Nick Mickels (Bush Club), Julian Ledger (NSW Rogaining), Stuart SewHoy (Sydney NPA), Rachel Grindlay (SBW), Ron G (Sydney), Justine Bourke (BNSW - OO)
	ONLINE
	Kerrie McLean, Ana Vrancic, Andrew Mitchell, Anna Hutchens, Anne Dodd, Bernard Hunt, Carol Beales-Evans, David Manson, David Richards, David Springthorpe, Denise Kruse, Fiona Maskell, Fiona Sonntag, Garry German, Geoff Fox, Harwood Lockton, Heather Ferguson, Jacinta Sheridan, Jan Steel, John Evans, John Kubale, Jay Butler, Julie McDonald, Karen Davis, Bruce Haigh, Kirk Hone, Larry Meng, Linda Hurford, Marlene, Merrilee McBride, Michelle Martignoni, Peter Griffiths, Sam Garrett-Jones, Shaune Walsh, Thais Turner, Therese Nilsson, David Bell

#### Apologies:

#### Chair & Quorum

The meeting commenced at 7pm with David Bell as chair.

The chair announced that a quorum was present and that the meeting was duly constituted.

#### **Previous Minutes**

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 16 August 2022 were accepted.

### Agenda item/topic

# A fresh approach to walks leadership Presentation

Les Higgins, author of the book 'Connect with Nature' presented 'A fresh approach to walks leadership'. Key points included:

a preview of Bushwalking NSW's leadership skills course

#### Bushwalking NSW Inc.

- the many benefits of connection with nature
- how activity leaders are contributing to people's happiness, health and wellbeing
- the potential for bushwalking clubs to help people access natures benefits

BNSW gifted a whale watching cruise to Les Higgins as a thank you for all his hard work.

**Michelle Martignoni** spoke on what leaders have said about their leadership experiences – the pluses and minuses. Michelle noted that leaders are most concerned with how to deal with challenging situations and interactions between walk participants. Michelle took a number of questions from meeting participants.

#### **AGM**

**Motion:**Receipt of the annual report including the Bushwalking NSW financial statement Proposed by: David Bell Seconded by: Peter Jack **Carried with requisite majority** 

**Appointment/person elected to office:** President - David Bell

Proposed by: John Flint Seconded by: Peter Jack Carried with requisite majority

**Appointment/person elected to office:** Vice- President - Jon Gray

Proposed by: John Flint Seconded by: Peter Jack Carried with requisite majority

**Appointment/person elected to office:** Secretary

Noted that Trevor Caldwell was unwell today. No-one nominated.

**Appointment/person elected to office:** Treasurer - Peter Jack

Proposed by: John Flint Seconded by: David Bell Carried with requisite majority

**Appointment/person elected to office:** Ordinary Committee Members - Margaret Covi, John Flint. Need to follow up - Paul McCann. Noted that Margaret Covi is Public Officer, not elected position but still important.

Proposed by: John Flint Seconded by: David Bell Carried with requisite majority

#### Chardon Award

The <u>Chardon Award</u> is named after Harold Chardon, the first Secretary of Bushwalking NSW in 1932 and recognises bushwalkers who have made a significant contribution to the bushwalking movement in NSW and the ACT.

The 'living award' was awarded to Leonie Bell (Sutherland Bushwalking Club, Sydney Christian Bushwalkers). In a video Leonie discussed starting as webmaster in 2014 and the website's evolution to a 'go to' information source today. Read Leonie's story <a href="https://example.com/here/bell/here/

Keith Maxwell discussed the posthumous award recipient Keith Massey from Search and Rescue who was a catalyst in the modernising of <u>BSAR</u> radio. His role as Equipment Officer saw him tow rescue vehicles with his own car and help search for an airplane lost at Barrington Tops.

# **Lucky Door Prizes**

- Sam Garrett-Jones won water bottle
- Tom (Bush Club) won an assortment of north coast products.

2023 AGM Minutes Printed: 10/05/2020 Page: 2 / 3

#### **Bushwalking NSW Inc.**

# Direction and priorities of Bushwalking NSW in 2023-24

- Leadership Training development of leadership course
- Conservation advocate on key conservation issues eg invasive species, inappropriate development in protected areas
- Tracks & Access advocate for new walking tracks and bushwalkers access eg via Crown lands/roads
- First Nations joint management of National Parks
- Young People in Clubs Jon Gray discussed the need for image change to attract young members eg. new terminology. Club participants are only 1% of walkers/hikers mainly over 55 years. Bushwalking Clubs may become redundant without young people.
- Great Escarpment Trail see page with walk mapped on google maps. Thanks to Gavin Dale.

## **Next Meeting**

The next Bushwalking NSW Management Committee Meeting shall be held at: 7-9:00pm on Tuesday, 21 November 2023

Meeting ended at: 9.15pm

2023 AGM Minutes Printed: 10/05/2020 Page: 3 / 3