Bushwalking NSW represents the interests of over 10,300 bushwalkers from 66 bushwalking clubs in NSW and ACT

Bushwalking NSW, formerly known as the Confederation of Bushwalking Clubs of NSW, represents the interests of over 10,300 bushwalkers from 66 bushwalking clubs in NSW and ACT. Bushwalking clubs pay an annual fee to Bushwalking NSW each July, based on club membership numbers. The fee includes accident and liability insurance, which is arranged through Bushwalking Australia.

Bushwalking NSW is an incorporated association, governed by a constitution. Its Members are bushwalking clubs affiliated with Bushwalking NSW. Each affiliated bushwalking club appoints one or more Delegates to represent their interests. The number of Delegates is stipulated in the Constitution, with larger clubs appointing more delegates.

The Bushwalking NSW Management Committee is an annually elected body consisting of 7 to 15 people. It consists of a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, a minimum of 3 ordinary members and other positions as created for specific needs. Only Delegates from Bushwalking NSW member clubs are entitled to vote for the Management Committee nominees.

Management Committee Members and others are appointed to sub-committees as required. The President of NSW SES Bush Search and Rescue (BSAR) is an ex-officio Management Committee member. The President of Bushwalking NSW is a delegate to national body Bushwalking Australia.

Management Committee meetings are scheduled approximately monthly. A quorum of four Management Committee members is required for meetings and a majority vote is required to make a decision.

General Meetings are held quarterly. Bushwalking NSW Members (club delegates) are invited to attend the General Meetings and to propose matters for discussion. A General Meeting quorum is 5 Members from 3 clubs. A majority vote is required to make a decision.

The Management Committee is assisted by an Executive Officer, who provides a strategic focus to the organisation, manages the office, and works to build strong relationships with government, land managers, conservation groups, and industry.

The Annual General Meeting is held in August.  Please see the Bushwalking NSW 2016-17 Annual Report.

Committee Members
President Alex Allchin (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
Vice President Mitchell Isaacs (Suboir (Sydney University Bushwalkers))
Secretary George Quinn (Coast and Mountain Walkers)
Treasurer John Flint (The Sydney Bushwalkers)
Ordinary Committee Members Keith Maxwell (Cumberland Plains Walkers)
Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers)
David Bell (Sydney Bushwalkers)
Bruce Lyman (Blue Steel Dash)
Appointed Positions
Executive Officer Kirsten Mayer
Public Officer Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers)
Conservation Officer Sierra Classen (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Tracks and Access Officer Alex Allchin (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
Risk Management Officer Margaret Covi (Watagan Wanderers)
Risk Management Officer Lee Cordner (South Coast Bushwalking Club)
Risk Management Officer Linda Groom (Canberra Bushwalking Club Inc)
Media Officer Mitchell Isaacs (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers )
Training Officer Lee Cordner (South Coast Bushwalking Club)
Website Content Editor Leonie Bell (Sutherland Bushwalkers)
Website Manager Alexandra Hipolito (Sydney Uni Bushwalkers)
Newsletter Jaimey Foti (The Sydney Bush Walkers)
The Bushwalker Editor Roger Caffin
The Bushwalker Graphic Designer Barry Hanlon
Delegates to other organisations
Bushwalking Australia Delegate (ex-officio) President &

Executive Officer

NSW SES Bush Search and Rescue (ex-officio) Keith Maxwell (Cumberland Plains Walkers)
NSW Conservation Council Delegate (ex-officio) Conservation Officer